Maximum allowed server size

Due to Aternos’s free model, storage on your Aternos server is limited to 4 GB. If your server reaches this limit, you will receive an error message when you try to start it. In this article, we will show you what this error message looks like and what you can do to fix the issue.

The error message

If the storage limit is reached, you will receive the following error message when you try to start your server. Most of the time, the storage is filled by a large world generated by mods or by a very long playtime.

Error message stating the the server exceeds the maximum allowed server size

What you can do

You can try deleting/clearing multiple things to reduce the server storage usage so that you can start your server again.

Need more storage?

On exaroton.com, you will get more storage for your Minecraft server.
Enjoy full file access, complete server control, and easier management of your custom Minecraft server.
exaroton is fully built and operated by the Aternos team.

Try exaroton for free

Delete unused Chunks

Minecraft generates thousands of chunks around players, and saves them, even if no player has ever entered them. To automatically remove unused chunks, enable the Optimize option for your worlds.

World wirh "Optimize" toggle in the Aternos panel

Delete unused worlds

Worlds usually make up the most of a server's total size. If your server has multiple worlds, and you do not need all of them, you can delete the unused ones here: https://aternos.org/worlds/

If you are running a Vanilla, Forge or Fabric server, you can delete/reset unused dimensions by deleting their corresponding folders within your world files (e.g. "DIM-1" for Nether, "DIM1" for End).

World "world_nether"

Delete unused mods/plugins

Mods and plugins can also take up a lot of space. Therefore, you could try to reduce the size of your server by deleting some of them from your server files: https://aternos.org/files/

When deleting plugins, make sure to remove both the plugin's .jar file and folder from the plugins directory.

Delete unused region files

You can also remove unused parts of your world by removing their region files from your world's "region" folder.

Contents of the "region" folder of a world

To find out which file corresponds to which part of your world, you can use this online tool: https://minecraft.tools/en/coordinate-calculator.php